Resources‎ > ‎School News‎ > ‎

Seneca Middle School Honor Chorus Earns Highest Rating

posted Apr 22, 2021, 12:45 PM by Lee Stephens   [ updated Apr 22, 2021, 12:45 PM ]
Seneca Middle School Honors Chorus
Thankfully, during this time of Covid and the restrictions it has brought, the music community has found safe ways to continue rehearsing and performing. The Seneca Middle School Honors Chorus is no exception and so recently did a video recording of two musical selections to submit to the State SCMEA Solo and Ensemble competition. Their performances were then judged by a college choral professional. This judging resulted in the group receiving the highest possible rating, a I+/Superior Plus. The SMS Honors Chorus is directed by Carla Brock, a National Board-certified teacher. She said of their performances, "In a year of such disappointment and uncertainty, it is wonderful for our choral students to still be able to perform, even through a video-recorded performance, and have goals to reach for with their music-making. They have worked so hard under different and difficult circumstances and I am so proud!"

The Seneca Middle School Honors Chorus is made up of select 7th and 8th grade chorus students who earned placement in the group by audition. The 2021-2022 members are: James Adams, Nyterious Bradley, Avery Butler, Lillian Cook, Nora Coutu, Kaitlyn Day, Grant Duvall, Sadie Goodroe, Olivia Gray, Hayden Haas, Brighton Hamilton, Claire Hart, Lagen Hawkins, Emily Ivey, Ava James, Tyler Johnson, Kylie Kalchthaler, Riley Maney, Riley Martin, Sawyer Moss, Meg Nation, Anna Campbell Nations, Noah Odom, Cole Palmer, Sydney Parkhurst, Kaitlyn Patterson, Laina Rebholz, Alyssa Rich, Campbell Roberts, Chloe Sayres, Avery Smith, Trinity Traynum, Macie Ellen White, Nation Williams, and Caleb Zeller.